Lovejoy Cottage Maine logo

Considering a stay at Lovejoy Cottage? See what former guests thought of their time with us.

One of our guests? Please leave your review.

Another Wonderful Stay

Thank you again for another wonderful stay. Quick long weekend getaway with my mom. And she loved it as much as we did in August. Weather was beautiful and other than a day at Acadia, we spent the rest of our time relaxing and enjoying the view. Thank you again Susan and Alan. Best wishes.

Dianne and Fran
October 2020

Beautiful, Peaceful, Restful

Such a beautiful, peaceful, restful, and exciting place to spend part of our honeymoon! 10/10, would spend another week here if we could. In addition to the current list of wildlife spotting, we also saw a juvenile red fox our first night. Thank you for opening your home to us so that we could explore this corner of Maine!

Meghan and Andrew
September 2020

Lovejoy Cottage is Absolutely Lovely

We absolutely loved our stay at Lovejoy Cottage. We are a family of four and are fortunate that our children, 20 and 22, still enjoy vacationing as a family. From the moment we walked in the door, we knew we found the right place. It is quite evident that owners Susan and Alan have worked very hard to make Lovejoy Cottage a “home away from home” for their guests. Inside, the cozy kitchen has beautiful granite countertops and cherry cabinets. The comfortable living/dining area is sprinkled with many special touches that feel like Maine. The bedrooms have beautiful furniture with extremely comfortable beds. But the best part in the cottage is the sun porch. This is where my husband and I slept and woke each morning to incredible views of the sun coming up over the pond. Directly off the sun porch, is the huge deck that is great for lazing and enjoying the cormorants hanging out in the water. If you are looking to relax in a beautifully appointed cottage on a quiet and serene pond – Lovejoy Cottage is the place to be. In fact, we loved it so much, that I have already booked another stay, this time with my mom!

Dianne, Bob, Bradford, and Erika
August 2020

Soooooooo relaxing!!

Beautiful cottage, lovingly maintained.  Will have great memories of stargazing, campfires, and watching all the pond critters.  Bald eagles are AMAZING!!!  Thank you for a fantastic week!

Rick & Erica
August 2020

Clean, tidy, welcoming, and peaceful

It was at first a challenge to even get to Maine! The COVID-19 virus tossed up many a roadblock to our visit. How blessed we were as we entered the doors to Lovejoy Cottage! Clean, tidy, welcoming and oh so peaceful. It was obvious that great care was taken to make visitors feel at home. The weather co-operated and even the remnants of the tropical storm Isaias did not disappoint — some rain, but high winds which were of no consequence — the cottage proved noise-proof and secure.

Susan and Alan and whatever services they employ really know their stuff and we were the beneficiaries of it. Whoever follows us, we hope your stay was as good as ours.

P.S. thank you for well stocked towels!

We also hope you enjoy the cormorants that love to hang out on the dock, the bald eagles that fly overhead, and hummingbirds that frequent the flowers on the deck.

Lisa, Teresa, and Jane
August 2020

Relaxing and serene

This was such a chill vacation. We loved the amazing sunrises and how still the pond was as we kayaked in the mornings. We were almost always the only ones on the water. We were stoked to see the bald eagles and laughed as we watched the birds on the swim platform stake out their positions. We left totally refreshed. This was one of the best vacations we’ve had in a long time. Thank you for offering up such a wonderful place. Oh, and your restaurant recommendations were spot on. Highly recommend!

Jennifer
September 2019

Beautiful spot

Lovejoy cottage is a beautifully appointed cottage. It’s a great place to relax and unwind. The cottage has all the necessities for a relaxing time. Lovejoy pond is more for fishing, kayaking and canoeing than swimming. The sun rises and sunsets are breath taking.

Mary C.
August 2019

Better than the pics

The house is perfect for a couple, or a small family. The fishing was great, we caught lots of large mouth bass (a few up to 3 lbs) and the place was crazy with tiny white perch. If you are a birder you will love this place. It needs to be clear that you do not want to swim in this pond, that is the only drawback.

Amy D.
July 2019

Comfort and Quiet on the Lake

Excellent property. Very clean and comfortable. Sleeping porch is a real plus. Closes up for use with AC as needed but when open let’s you sleep right on the Pond. Owner very nice and helpful. Access road is pretty rough. Nicely decorated and equipped. I’d go back.

Gary S.
July 2019

Absolute bliss!

Lovejoy Cottage was all we hoped for and more! We stayed here to be close to the coast and Acadia National Park, but far from the bustling crowds. The cottage was lovely and located right on the water. It was impeccably clean and obviously well cared for. The sunrises are amazing and watching the mist rising off the water was a special and rare treat. We saw tons of birds, including a great blue heron (!) at the shore, and even wild turkeys! This was such a relaxing place to return to after a full day of sightseeing and touring. We enjoyed fires in the fire pit and heard the wonderful call of the loons. Next time we plan on just doing nothing but kayaking, fishing, and relaxing on the deck with a glass of wine. This is truly a magical place and I can’t wait to come back.

Pat & Julie
January 2019

Wonderful, tranquil stay

Love joy Cottage is a charming place. We had a wonderful time cooking in the fully equipped kitchen, having coffee on the back deck watching the beautiful sunrise over the pond and seeing the variety of birds sunning themselves on the dock. We also enjoyed sitting around a warm fire in the fire pit in the evening. The cottage was very clean and furnished with lovely touches of Maine. Would love to go back and try out the fishing!

Stephanie R.
October 2017

Wonderful hideaway

This very peaceful and tranquil place makes for a wonderful and memorable vacation to Maine. This cottage is seated on a pond with so much wildlife in a great setting. I highly recommend it!!!!

Barbara L.
August 2017

INSPIRATION and a meditation on Lovejoy Cottage

Thanks again for making your cottage available. We are still fondly recalling our moments there and the grand sense of being almost alone in the world. The below testimony is what I wrote in your guest book.

Peace and tranquility, broken only by the joyous music of the flitting songbirds, the rustling leaves in a gentle summer breeze, the calls of soaring osprey whose talons tightly grasp a freshly-caught prey, the swishes of fishes leaping for dinner; a visual feast as well with light puffy clouds in a picture perfect sky reflected in pond mirror, glistening ripples on the pond surface, guard cormorants watching o’er the cottage, a casting rod drawing in a big one–all combine to remove us from the chaos and fray of daily life.

For entertainment–Yarmouth Clam Fest; the harbor and heritage walk in Belfast; Camden harbor cruise and brief gander at pricey shops; short drive to Waterville for manicure and a peek at the modest farmers’ market along with a short walk over the Kennebec River; yahtzee and Nationals baseball; lounging and observing. A great 3rd stop on our summer climate avoidance project.

Linda & Dwight
August 2017

Beautiful, peaceful and serine. Wildlife all around. Cottage was perfect for us.

Awesome getaway with the family. We loved every moment of it. The fishing was amazing. Kayaking and conoeing was so much fun. We took a small trip to the coast and had a great day. Hope to go back in the future.

Greg N.
July 2017

Super sweet little cottage – great place to relax!

Susan & Alan were very welcoming and kind hosts, and the cottage was adorable, cozy and clean. It was perfect for our family – beautiful view of the lake every morning, use of the canoe, a well-stocked kitchen & close proximity to Common Ground fairgrounds. We definitely would recommend the Lovejoy Cottage to family & friends! Thank you, Susan and Alan.

Brooke N.
September 2016

Truly Magical 25th Anniversary Experience

We adored Lovejoy Cottage! It’s a gorgeous bungalow, a unique location, and we loved it dearly.

We booked two weeks for our 25th wedding anniversary in July 2015, and after a very long drive up from the North Fork of Long Island, we finally pulled into the scented pine grove. We retrieved the key, stepped inside, excitedly walked through to the sunporch–opened up all the shades–and a magical world was revealed. Picture Dorothy landing in Oz and opening the door of her Kansas house and seeing a fabulous new world–it really was like that! A charming note from owners Susan and Alan greeted us, along with a bottle of local bubbly, jam and ceramic mugs–a delightful touch.

The setting, views, and location are spectacular. The cottage and all its amenities were exactly as described in the website listing, and everything looked even better in person. We spent our time reading on the deck, fishing off the pier, canoeing the lake, antiquing, and visiting local villages. The only disappointment was a very thick algae problem on the lake that worsened as time went by. This precluded swimming, but we just went canoeing instead. We grilled local bison steaks on the Weber, enjoyed the flowers in the garden beds, and had marvelous blueberry ice cream from the excellent fried chicken take-out joint. Lovejoy is truly a place to relax and reconnect.

Everything Susan and Alan have accomplished has been the result of obvious hard work, planning, careful consideration, good taste, love, and attention to detail. All of that combined with the wildlife and sunrises and sunsets make the cottage a very special place. There really are Bald Eagles that nest on the property, and the bullfrogs sing all night. The living/dining room, kitchen, bath, beds and bedding were all high-quality and comfortable. The decor and furnishings were casual and new shabby-chic cottage contemporary, with tasteful and charming vintage touches.

Susan and Alan were extremely responsive to the minor issues we encountered, via their local caretaker, Michelle. I am on the high-maintenance side of the spectrum (think “When Harry Met Sally”) and was concerned that the owners lived so far away…but their guest services and their management system are so well-thought-out, that it was as if they were right there on-site.

We had a fantastic, restful time, and highly recommend Lovejoy. Thank you Susan and Alan for making our 25th Anniversary as special as our honeymoon.

Angela S.
July 2016

The cottage was so well thought out!

The cottage had everything we needed! Very well laid out. The fishing from the dock was awesome, our 12 year old son even took home a 19 1/2 bass for mounting! If we ever visit the area again we would love to stay here!

Angelica H.
August 2015

Perfect & Peaceful! Very Relaxing! Clean!

My Husband and I loved this place! The cottage was amazingly clean! Everything is new and just super clean!! Loved the B&B touches! The fishing was great! The bald eagles are beautiful! There was a ton of useful information that the owner put together that helped us out a lot! It was very easy to find ( following the owners directions ) off the beaten path. Loved the deck and the water! It was great!! We would definitely recommend this property if you are looking to get away and relax in a rural environment. Enjoy!!

Timothy R.
July 2015

Just perfect…not a single complaint

This cottage is exceptionally clean, nicely furnished, beautifully designed and decorated. It’s everything we hoped for.

I’m writing this review in the middle of our one week stay because I could not wait!

We’ve stayed in other cottages where the photos were taken at a deceiving angle and the kitchen was stocked with garage sale items. That is simply not the case with this place. The photos cannot do it it justice. It is stocked with beautiful, thoughtful items. Everything feels new!

In the kitchen you’ll be pleased to find virtually anything you could need. I was surprised that a nice pizza cutter was there when we needed it.

The bedding is soft and the beds are comfortable.

The fishing is excellent.

The setting is peaceful and private.

We loved taking the canoe and kayak out on the water.

Sleeping on the sunporch is almost like camping but with far more comfort. Expect to waken to a lot of birds singing. It’s a pretty nice way to wake up.

You won’t be disappointed if you decide to spend a week here.

Jennifer D.
July 2015

QUIET, PEACEFUL, RELAXING VACATION!!!

Very beautiful and relaxing place to stay. Sun rises were great, so have camera ready early mornings. Kingfisher visited us ever morning, on swim platform. Bald Eagle were flying over head every other day. GREAT large mouth bass fishing. Would recommend renting this place if you are in need of a quiet, peaceful, out of the way vacation. Will rent with them again in the further. THANKS FOR A GREAT BEAUTIFUL QUIET VACATION WE REALLY NEED IT!!!!

Tracey H.
August 2014

So very relaxing!

What a great cabin! My husband and I just spent a week here, and it was the most relaxing vacation we’ve ever been on. The cabin is fantastic – clean, well renovated, and beautiful. The best part of the cabin is the screened porch with the bed – falling asleep to the sounds of the pond, and waking up to the sunrise is fantastic.

We spent a lot of time just relaxing – kayaking, canoeing, fishing, firepit, etc. This is a wonderful place for that. The only thing to keep in mind is that the pond is not good for swimming – it is very full of algae. You cannot see the bottom 8 inches from shore. Since we did not care about swimming, it didn’t matter to us. The fishing was great – there was one night where every cast resulted in a fish!

Great cabin, remote, peaceful, and relaxing – just what a cabin should be.

Beth D.
July 2014

Perfection !!!!!

The property and cottage were very well maintained , every thing you would need or use was well thought out and provided . Acadia and other parks are all within a few hours drive , we went to Acadia twice , awesome adventure for all involved , mountains , forest , beaches all in one place .The fishing on the Lovejoy Pond was great , of the dock me and the kid’ s caught many White Perch and a rather large Northern Pike , and some nice bass . An early morning canoe trip produced a few bass close to 5 pounds along with a lot of healthy looking 2-3 lb. bass . Mornings I was usually awakened by the girls yelling Bob , help we caught another one , the room on the porch is great , could see the sun rise , needed another week to really enjoy the area . At nite around the fire being sung to by the coyotes was magical . Thank you for a great place to stay , and sharing this piece of heaven . Bob

Bob L.
October 2013

Lovely Lovejoy: Birders/Fisherman’s Paradise

This cottage is quite a gem and I’ve stayed in some pretty spectacular places.(See Kapehu on Big Island). This is perfection in a compact package. I have never seen such a terrific renovation — history with modern conveniences and homey touches. The kayaking, stargazing and yoga on the dock, hummingbirds less than inches from me feeding on the flowers on the deck and the biggest highlight — eagles next door! And you might even share the dock with a heron! The fire pit overlooking the lake was divine. Everything has been thought of and provided here. The beds are comfy and the towels are plush. Sunrises from the bed on the sunporch are magical! The owners were a dream to deal with and the welcome email alone with all the recommendations was a planner’s dream! But seriously, you will not want to leave the pond. Take my word, you’ll wish you’d booked two weeks.

Lish T.
August 2013

Wonderful get-away

Everything was just as promised online. We enjoyed watching the eagles and were even able to get some amazing photos from our kayaks. The pond is a great place to kayak. It was so quiet it felt like we had it all to ourselves. The cottage was clean and comfortable and the wi-fi access was a great plus for my husband who unfortunately had to do a little work during our two week stay. We checked out nearby Big G’s Deli for lunch a couple times and it was a great find. They had enormous sandwiches on their own fresh bread and giant whoopie pies that our children quite enjoyed. The deck was a favorite spot for all of us. All in all, the perfect get-away for our whole family.

Cheryl M.
July 2013

The way l1fe should be in a cottage

This is a jewel of a cottage. We will return! The wildlife was fantastic with eagles, beavers, kingfishers, osprey, as well a a litany of smaller birds. The rooms were clean, neat and well prepared for our stay. The porch bedroom is unbelievable so one could wake to the sound of the loons and frogs with the dawn streaming in. Caught bass within 5 minutes from dock. The kayak and canoe were great for fun and to visit the other parts of the lake, island, take pictures or to go fishing . Owners were a dream to communicate with and were readily available from cottage wireless. They obviously really care for their dream cottage and it shows.

Mandy L.
June 2013

Cozy Cottage overlooking Lovejoy Pond in Maine

My stay at your cottage in early October was very enjoyable and totally fulfilling. The pictures online are beautiful, but seeing the cottage with my own eyes was even more stunning, both inside and outside. The coziness of your cottage was delightful and the decor was personable and charming, cottage was very clean and has everything one would need. I was truly amazed at the gorgeous view from the cottage of the fall foliage outlining Lovejoy Pond, the quietness and serenity of just being outside and overlooking nature’s beauty, and of course watching the Bald Eagles fly in, perching atop the trees on both sides of the pond, and flying out. The location of the cottage is within driving distances to many beautiful lakes, ponds and coastal parks and towns, such as Bar Harbor, Belfast, Camden, Rockport and Rockland. Acadia National Park and the drive to Cadillac Mountain is magnificant. Camden Hills State Park and the drive to Mount Battie overlooking Camden, and Penobscot Bay — truly worth the drives. This was my first time to the magnificent state of Maine. I would definitely recommend this property to a friend or relative.

Elaine

from Louisiana

Elaine R.
October 2012

Stunning location, comfortable, quiet.

We booked this from the UK, and felt a bit worried about booking somewhere for a whole month, for a 60th birthday celebration. But we need not have worried. It was everything we hoped for. We were lucky, and there was no one in any of the nearby cabins/cottages – so we had an unbelievably peaceful time, swimming most days, canoeing and kayaking up and down the lake. The bald eagle was a regular visitor, we saw loons, cormorants, a humming bird, osprey, chipmunks, heron and kingfisher. The bed was really comfortable, and the screens stopped any mosquitos or bugs from finding their way in. Sitting outside, overlooking the lake, and being able to go online to see what was available locally was a great plus for us.

We hope to come back.

William A.
September 2012

Serenity in a charming, comfortable cottage

Our week-long stay on Lovejoy Pond was just what we expected — a charming, well-kept cottage with peace and quiet the entire time we were there. While the location is a little bit out of the way for groceries, restaurants, etc., it is convenient for visiting many different coastal locations that are all within a reasonable distance from the lake for day trips. Our best day, however, was the one that we spent right at the cottage swimming, kayaking and napping. The screened porch was wonderful and we took advantage of it every morning and evening. Kayaking on the lake was the highlight of our trip. We found the eagles’ favorite tree on the opposite side of the lake (when they weren’t hanging out in the tree right at the cottage), and discovered the inlet/outlet at the north end of the pond that provided a fun adventure. There were plenty of clean towels, pillows and blankets, and the cottage itself was immaculate. We would definitely recommend this cottage to family and friends who are looking for a peaceful, relaxing vacation.

Kim B.
August 2012

Lovejoy Cottage

We loved the cottage…My husband and I loved waking up to the beautiful sunrise over the pond. The cottage has been remodeled recently with new cabinets, granite countertops and new appliances in the kitchen.. The bathroom was redone also. My husband and I like our computers and the internet was great.

You could not find a more beautiful setting for a vacation in Maine..

Pam H.
July 2012
Lovejoy Cottage Maine logo

Contact Information

Address

Pine Road

Albion, ME 04910

Email

stay@lovejoycottage.com

Phone

207-619-0014

Have a question?

Ready to Stay?